Arapahoe County

Arapahoe County Boundaries

Arapahoe County is the states’s first County and was named for the Arapaho Indians who, along with the Cheyenne Indians, occupied most of Colorado when it was only a territory. At that time, Arapahoe County was much larger and stretched to western Kansas. Denver was the original County seat and remained so until 1902, when the City of Denver became a separate County. The City of Littleton became the new County seat and remains the County seat today.

Located just south of Denver, Arapahoe County spans 806 square miles. As of the 2010 census, the population was 572,003, making it the third-most populous county in Colorado. The western part of the County is mostly urban with residential, retail and industrial areas.  The eastern part is relatively rural.  The 13 incorporated communities of Arapahoe County are:  Aurora, Bennett, Bow Mar, Centennial, Cherry Hills Village, Columbine Valley, Deer Trail, Englewood, Foxfield, Glendale, Littleton, Greenwood Village, and Sheridan.

Arapahoe County offers a variety of attractive residential homes and a moderate cost of living. The medium household income is $83,333. Residents enjoy beautiful parks, greenbelts and trail systems, superior public services, and an enjoyable quality of life. There are nine school districts within the County, including the AuroraCherry Creek and Littleton Public School Districts.

Use this map to search for homes in Arapahoe County. If you have any questions about its use, click the Help tab at left of map.

[spatialmatch_map id=19 width=100%]