Denver County

Denver BoundariesUntil 1902, the City of Denver served as the county seat of Arapahoe County. But when the Colorado legislature voted to split Arapahoe County into three parts, creating Denver and Adams counties in the process, Denver became a consolidated city-county, a city and county that have been merged into one unified jurisdiction. With a population of over 600,100, The City and County of Denver is the largest city in Colorado and the 24th largest city in the United States.

Nicknamed the “Mile High City” for its elevation, Denver is also known as the “Queen City of the Plains” and the “Gateway to the Rockies”. Denver is noted for its more than 200 parks, including 22 developed parks and 24 conservation/wilderness areas in the foothills west of Denver. Some of the most popular parks are Washington Park, Chessman Park, City Park, Sloan’s Lake, and the world famous Red Rocks Park and Amphitheatre. Denver also owns the Winter Park Resort ski area, 67 miles west of Denver in Grand County. Denver residents convenient access to professional sportsmuseums and attractionsexcellent shopping, dining and entertainment.

The City and County of Denver lies within the boundaries of the Denver Public Schools.

Use this map to search for homes in Denver. If you have any questions about its use, click the Help tab at left of map.

[spatialmatch_map id=15 width=100%]